We’re growing up

And we're slowly realizing that

If I ask you when was the last time you had a heartbreak or a setback, it’ll probably be a fresh wound.

It won’t be difficult to remember the last time you felt sad too.

You probably also remember the recent time you went broke.

Or the time you shed a few tears about something.

Maybe even the time you broke somebody’s heart!

No doubt that all of us have been growing up in different ways, but most things about us are the same. 

The more you grow up, the more you realize that the problems and situations your family has always shielded you from, you’re inevitably facing these situations.

One of my best friends recently left town to pursue an internship at a company. And even though we have been letting this event stay on the back burner, it was still destined to happen. 

The entire time we were with each other, we talked about how most things that we never thought would ever happen to us were actually happening to us.

Friends are finding jobs, getting married, or even having kids - bizarre!

Even though we have found our personal ways of life, the truth is that life for you and me will always inevitably push us forward. 

I never thought I’d ever finish college.

Then I never thought I’d ever land a job.

Then I never thought I’d ever create a business on my own.

And I certainly never thought I’d become a millionaire.

Yet, everything happened. 

I took up responsibilities. I became the man of my house. I paid bills that I’d never even seen enter my house. 

Growing up is directly proportional to being responsible. You can’t call yourself a grown-up without feeling responsible to some extent. And some of us grow up sooner than others.

The funniest thing is that sometimes when you look in the mirror, you see your mother or father. And the more they reflect into your personality, the more it feels that it’s your time to quit the shenanigans and step up.

I put on my father’s shoes once as a joke. He saw me doing that. And said that his father told him that when a father’s shoes fits a son, he’s ready to participate in the household and fulfill his duties.

Welcome to the real world!

Join the conversation

or to participate.