YOU’RE NOT BORN TO BE HAPPY

And happiness is not your destiny

YOU’RE NOT BORN TO BE HAPPY

If I were to give you a menu with a range of emotions to choose from, what would you choose?

Happy. Right?

Every single time, you’d choose to be happy.

That’s what we’re taught to chase from the time we’re kids.

But guess what? Choosing happiness can be just as destructive in your life.

If your desire is to chase happiness only, that’s when you eat the cake. That’s when you take those drugs. That’s when you sip that alcohol. And that’s when you dwell in hedonism.

I’ve lived a distinct life and seen a lot of people around me fall into the trap of chasing happiness.

“Taha, I think I’m not destined to be happy“

“Taha, I think God doesn’t like me“

“Taha, why am I sad all the time?“

Do you know why?

Because you are chasing the wrong things in life.

Every day when I wake up, I don’t feel the same. I don’t wake up with a smile on my face every morning.

And neither do you.

But guess what? The difference between you and me is that regardless of how I feel, I still have things to do. I still have things to accomplish and I still have places to conquer.

This is because I choose fulfillment over happiness.

I choose to feel content with my life. I choose to be proud rather than be happy. I wake up and say

  • How can I be proud of myself?

  • How can I do things that make other people respect me and are proud of me?

  • How do I have a day which I complete when I come home the woman who's in my house says, “wow, there's no man like you!”

  • How do I make my mother tell me and say “I couldn't possibly be more proud of you”.

Let’s be honest.

NOBODY CARES HOW YOU FEEL.

Your friend doesn’t care.

Your partner doesn’t care.

Your own family doesn’t care.

If you get up every day and tell all these people that you’re feeling sad, they might care for a few days but after a while, even they’ll be exhausted by how tiring and ungrateful you are. Even your own partner, your girlfriends, or your boyfriend will end up getting tired of how whiny and full of problems you are - and how much you reek of discontentment.

That’s because you give happiness too much importance.

You have duties to complete.

Those reels on Instagram are showing you that people are having fun on vacations, going to concerts, drinking, and meeting new people, and you feel you’re missing out.

A man doesn’t give any importance to how he feels. He just gets up, does his work, and makes sure his family is smiling.

I live a fantastic life. I'm not miserable or depressed like you. This is because every single day I wake up, look over things that need to be done, work 18 hours a day, and blow a lot of money.

Every time I meet my mother, I see her with a smiling face and tears in her eyes only because of how proud she is of me. Every time I meet my friends, I see them welcoming me with open arms and warm handshakes. Every time I meet a girl I like, I see her face light up and her eyes sparkle.

You’re giving priority to the wrong things in life my friend. And you need to pay attention to other things on that menu of emotions rather than happiness.

Join the conversation

or to participate.